Standing Up

Today, I received a message from a friend of mine about another acquaintance of ours, who shall remain nameless.  And this friend started in about how horrible this acquaintance was.  For simplicity sake (since already, two sentences in, *I’m* confused, I’ll refer to the friend as Dana and the acquaintance as Zelda.)

Dana started in by saying how Zelda had turned zealot and was pushing her propaganda on her children.  She continued another ten sentences, basically repeating the same thing, but using different words.

And when I could get a word in edgewise, I simply told her that while I didn’t care for Zelda, I was not going to invite her or her distorted views into my day.  That I simply didn’t have room in my mind for her negative speech.

Dana was quiet for a bit, then started in again.  I simply reiterated my point, and added that I haven’t thought about Zelda since the last time I saw her.  I wished her well, her kids well, and that was basically the end of that.

Dana then started in again.  Clearly, she has it out for this woman.  A woman she has only met maybe a handful of times, but spends an inordinate amount of energy thinking about.

I said, “I have spent more than enough time talking about Zelda today.  So, unless you want to speak about something else, then I suppose we’re finished for the day.”

Dana was quiet, then started in about how she wasn’t feeling well and needed to get back to bed.

I wonder.  Was this Dana’s complete objective?  To get me to say negative things about Zelda?  To partake in her reindeer games?  I don’t know.  And frankly, don’t care.

I have been working daily to be kind, to be understanding, to be generous to people.  But on the same token, to not stand idly by while either my thoughts or wishes are stepped upon.  And I felt very proud of myself by taking this opportunity to simply just dismiss the whole notion that Dana was presenting…that misery loves company.  And while that may be true, she is not going to find it with me.

In any case…this is such an insignificant part of my day, but something that needed to be processed, and now I can move on.  They always say directly through whatever it is you’re working on is often the most difficult.  But better than having unresolved feelings…like what’s going on between Dana and Zelda.

I hope, dear readers, you don’t think I’m preaching.  I know I can get a little self-righteous.  And please forgive me if it comes across that way.  I’m simply trying to be gracious, but also not feed into any sort of negativity.  There’s simply too much of it around us, and truly, my happiness or lack thereof is my choice.  And I choose to be happy.

There are a lot of things that have gone on over the last few months…heck, the last few years, that I suppose could leave me in a very negative, unhappy state.  But that’s not who I am fundamentally to my core.  And perhaps my next blog posting will talk about the dying at 35…and what it seems to now represent since I’ve had some perspective 7 months into this 35th year.

Wherever you are, Dana, feel better soon.  And Zelda, I truly do wish you the best.

If you’d like, dear readers, I’d love to hear about a time when you stood up for yourself.  What you thought as you were doing it, the repercussions, if any, and finally, the insight you may have about the entire incident.

Be kind to yourself.

 

Posted on September 16, 2012, in experiences, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

