Thirty-Six

In 36 years, I have learned the following:

  • it’s okay to be wrong
  • it’s okay to hurt.  We learn our biggest lessons from those moments, and it proves our character how we can move forward. 
  • I am not a doormat.  I will give to you, but don’t take advantage of me.
  • I can be funny, silly, shy, serious, talented, all at the drop of a hat.  And use these skills every single day, with everyone that I meet.
  • It’s okay to be in touch with your emotions, and cry at commercials.  
  • There is nothing wrong with paying someone a random compliment.  It may take them a minute to recognize you want nothing from them, but it goes a lot farther than keeping it to yourself.
  • Life is short.  Don’t waste the opportunity to tell people how much you love them. 
  • People constantly surprise you.
  • There is a lot to be learned from those who are younger than you.  They look to you for guidance, but sometimes, a small word or action from them is a lesson unto itself.
  • Just because my father and I are different doesn’t mean we are bad people.  Simply different.
  • Love is never forever, but that doesn’t mean you should stop.  
  • Saying goodbye to people, closing chapters in your life can be a good thing.  That doesn’t mean it doesn’t hurt, but as I stated above…some of the biggest lessons come from such experiences.
  • I’m a good person. 
  • I’m a happy person.
  • I’m grateful to be included in the stories of those around me, and blessed that they are part of mine. 

Here’s to another amazing 36 years.  

 

Posted on February 4, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

