Light

Today, I woke up to the news that my country was no longer pretending – no longer afraid to share its true colors. History was repeating itself before our eyes.

I made a deliberate choice this morning to limit my time on Facebook and social media, to not read any news stories because I knew the hurt I would feel in my heart. I don’t know why, but when tragedies strike I feel these things incredibly deeply. They seem to find their way to my soul leaving me scarred.

This evening, I logged on to my computer and instantly I saw death. I saw destruction of innocent lives. I saw the hate in their eyes.

I am sad for I don’t know what to do anymore. This is not the country I know. These are not the people I know. This is not the way we were raised – to love one another, to be brothers and sisters, all doing our best to live our best lives.

I wish I had pithy words instead of the ramblings you’re reading now, but I don’t. I can’t. I don’t know what to say, how to start, how to express what’s in my heart except send love and light to those who need it tonight, to express my disgust for the the violence and hate growing day by day. But I know in my heart I have to say something, for being silent is to be complicit.

Hate. Hate fills the street, hate fills their heart.

We are more divided than ever.

Hate is a lesson taught. You are not born knowing how to hate. You are not innately afraid of something you don’t understand. You have to be taught to hate, you have to be taught to fear – that has to come from somewhere.

Blacks, women, Jewish, gays, Muslims, Hindus, Japanese, Native Americans – the list goes on and on of people to “hate.” Why?

What are you afraid of? What is it that makes you cower in fear? Why do you have these prejudices? What dogma have you been force fed, to believe these people mean you harm?

Yes, there are bad apples from every walk of life, but I refuse to believe the whole of humanity is a hateful, hurtful, selfish bunch hellbent on destroying each other.

WE SHOULD NOT HAVE TO LIVE IN FEAR.

Today it’s the rally in Charlottesville. Yesterday it was Sandy Hook. Tomorrow a police riot. Today it’s the bombing of a mosque. Yesterday it’s 9/11. Tomorrow it’s Columbine.  Today it’s Pulse nightlcub. Yesterday it was World War II. Tomorrow it’s Syrian refugees fleeing Aleppo. The list goes on and on, and we are doomed to repeat it over and over again.

Hate has only one purpose – to breed more hate. It grows like a cancer, taking over the body until one is consumed. A poison that is not only contained within one’s own self but spreads to anyone who comes in contact with it. Like night, it turns your soul black and extinguishes your light.  Martin Luther King Jr. said, “Returning hate for hate multiplies hate, adding a deeper darkness to a night already devoid of stars. Darkness cannot drive out darkness; only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate, only love can do that.”

I have to believe in love.

I have to believe in the power that comes from an open heart.

Today, my heart weeps for my country.

No one is born hating another person because of the color of his skin, or his background, or his religion. People must learn to hate, and if they can learn to hate, they can be taught to love, for love comes more naturally to the human heart than its opposite.  – Nelson Mandela

We cannot live in fear.

We must keep fighting for our light.

I have to say something. We all have to say something. because this cannot be our new normal. We are better than this.

I pray for the people in Charlottesville, I pray for my brothers and sisters, I pray for my nation.

 

 

 

Posted on August 13, 2017, in Thoughts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

